Skip to main content

Copy the text below to embed this resource

The Progressive Development of Movement Abilities in Children
Main contributor
Indiana U Audio-Visual Center
[motion picture] Explains that children's physical maturity may be classified in terms of three developmental stages--rudimentary, elementary, and mature.  Uses high-speed, normal, and stop-action photography to show children at each of the three stages engaged in such activities as running, throwing, catching, and kicking.  Emphasizes a hierarchical approach to categorizing a child's development and identifies developmental anomalies, such as a child throwing in an elementary fashion while displaying mature running ability.
IUL Moving Image Archive
IUL Moving Image Archive